Feb 16, 2022
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Shortlist for latest BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund is released

Feb 16, 2022

The British Fashion Council (BFC) has revealed the names of the shortlisted designers for the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund 2022. They are Chopova Lowena, Completedworks, ELV Denim, Neous, Nicholas Daley, Richard Malone, Richard Quinn and Tove.

Richard Malone is on this year's shortlist

The fund — which was first set up in 2008 — supports creativity in business and “aims to celebrate exceptional talent and empower businesses to play their part in positive growth”.

It does this via bespoke mentoring and awarding a £200,000 cash prize, supported by British Vogue, Burberry, Clearpay, Paul Smith and Rodial.

The judging committee this time includes some big names in fashion and media. Its chair is Edward Enninful, who’s Editor-in-Chief of British Vogue and the magazine brand’s European Editorial Director. Also joining the group are BFC chief Caroline Rush, Rodial founder Maria Hatzistefanis, Matchesfashion commercial chief Elizabeth von der Goltz, British Vogue’s fashion director Julia Sarr-Jamois and its deputy editor Sarah Harris, the FT’s Fashion Director Lauren Indvik, Burberry’s marketing head Rod Manley, plus Sarah Mower who’s the BFC ambassador for emerging talent.

Caroline Rush said that “the trade environment is becoming increasingly challenging, so it is essential for our community to come together and support these talented forces that are pushing fashion forward. This year’s shortlist demonstrates the incredible breadth of talent we have here in the UK”.

The fund criteria “reflect the values of excellence in design and strong business acumen”. Collections should consist primarily of womenswear/womenswear accessories/all-gender collections, and the application process “encouraged brands to think strategically about how they are incorporating the three pillars of the Institute of Positive Fashion: Environment, People and Community & Craftsmanship into their brand”.

The eventual winner(s) will get a cash injection, along high-level mentoring “to develop vital areas of their business”. And there will also be support for all shortlisted designers on areas such as accounting, merchandising, business strategy, international markets, retail and e-commerce. 

Previous winners include Bethany Williams (2021), Wales Bonner (2019), Molly Goddard (2018), Mother of Pearl and Palmer//Harding (2017), Sophia Webster (2016), Mary Katrantzou (2015), Nicholas Kirkwood (2013), Christopher Kane (2011) and Erdem (2010).

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.