Jun 4, 2013
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CFDA fetes its 2013 winners

Jun 4, 2013

The annual CFDA Awards from the Council Fashion Designers of America announced its winners Monday in New York. In its 51st year, the event crowned the New York design duo of Proenza Schouler as the "Womenswear Designer of the Year." Designers Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez beat out the other nominees in the category, Marc Jacobs (2010 winner) and Alexander Wang (2011 winner in the accessories category).

The red carpet as viewed by social media.

The award for best menswear design went to Thom Browne, who was back on stage after winning the same award seven years ago in 2006, this year prevailing over Michael Bastian and Duckie Brown. Phillip Lim was named "Accessories Designer of the Year" for his 3.1 Phillip Lim brand, pushing aside Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler, winners in 2011 and 2009 respectively in the same category.

Hillary Clinton presented an award to Oscar de la Renta (DR)

Swarovski crowned its three "emerging talents" of the year: jewelry designer Pamela Love, the womenswear label Suno and the menswear label Public School. Hilary Clinton personally presented an honorary award to Oscar de la Renta, while the award for best international designer was awarded to the Italian Riccardo Tisci of Givenchy, as previously announced. A few weeks ago, this same designer was a co-chair of the MET Gala, New York’s other grand event with a big red carpet moment.

The Media Award, last year awarded to bloggers Garance Doré and Scott Shuman, went to Tim Blanks this time around, a British television journalist (Fashion File) and fashion authority and now a VIP editor on style.com. Tim Blanks received his award from Linda Evangelista.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.